Out of the Ordinary Saturday

It has been an interesting but fun last couple of days.  Before hubby left for work on Thursday morning he said, “oh by the way, we are having a wedding here Saturday!”  I wasn’t totally surprised as I knew a friend was considering asking him to perform their vows for her and her fiancé since all wedding plans had to be canceled due to the virus.  This date was chosen for a very special reason and rather than postpone till later, they decided to get married now and have a celebration later when things settle down.  They were willing to stand somewhere in the yard to do their vows.  As I knew it was supposed to be rainy, I told them to plan on being in the house in front of the fireplace.  The bride was thrilled and that started my planning mind, spinning like no one else’s business!  A spur-of-the-moment wedding!  I’m on it!!  If I had been asked to do it, I wouldn’t have enjoyed it near as much but to bless the bride and groom with more than they had resigned themselves to, I was thrilled.  They are expecting nothing so anything done was appreciated.  Simplicity is beautiful so my ideas began to flow and it was fun.  I put the most time and effort into making a very small cake.  They were pleasantly surprised.  A little clearing back of the furniture for taking a few pictures, a little music in the background, candles, pleasant fragrance, and we were good to go.  I was in my element!  Once again, it was about making the best out of the circumstances; doing the best with as little cost as possible in the amount of time given to work with.  My sister-in-law and I were the photographers as well so after they left, I sent the order in for prints and it is waiting  to be picked up!  What ever happened to the days of the expensive pictures that we weren’t impressed with?  We had a special time today.

The rest of the afternoon was quiet and relaxing.  I hope this hasn’t been a boring post.  Just sharing life.  Have a great rest of your weekend!  I’ll be back.

Desarae

 

One thought on “Out of the Ordinary Saturday

Leave a comment