Tips and Tricks

Before I forget, let me say thank you to the new followers.  I am humbled that you find this blog interesting enough to follow.  I hope our shared interests will keep you satisfied.  I do understand that seasons come and go and we go through times where a blog captures our interest for a time until we find later, we are unable to keep up with all the online stuff.  I have had to drop a couple of blogs I followed, simply because I didn’t have time for all of them.  Some blogs I wish were still available to follow but they have ended.

This isn’t the most interesting picture to post but I wanted to give you a little garden tip or hint.  These little silica packets come in all kinds of packaging to collect unwanted moisture.  I have always thrown many of them in my seed organizer to ensure that moisture from my basement doesn’t damage my seeds.  Yes, seeds are in their paper or foil packages, then in the tote with the lid on, but there’s no need to take a chance on them getting damaged by moisture when these little things are free!  It’s a good way to reuse or recycle.  Storing seeds in a cold, dry and dark place is best.  My pantry is best suited for that.

It was a windy weekend and by the sounds of it we haven’t seen the end of it.  I wanted to plant the new fruit trees I purchased at Tractor Supply but by the time we were done with other things we were working on, I decided to wait.  We went to Tractor Supply last week and they happen to have several kinds of trees.  Wind can be hard on new trees so I’m going to wait till the middle of the week when things look more promising.  I bought two Reliance Peach trees, a JohnaMac and a Honey Crisp apple tree.  I’m hoping I won’t regret my purchase as they didn’t come with as much information as they should have.  For the price I paid I am going to take my chances.  If they don’t make it for some reason, I can take my proof of purchase back and they will reimburse me.  I really hope they make it.

Hubby spread some new top soil around the area where garage construction tore up the yard.  He even got it seeded and rolled so hopefully it will take off.  The other thing he did was scrape off the top layer of the garden where the pigs had turned up the grass roots and left them in mounds.  I am having to sacrifice some good soil but believe it or not, we took at least six loads of roots out to a pile in the pasture.  Six!!  Now after assessing it, I am giving in to tilling.  There are still plenty left of the root systems and the only other thing I have read to do is till, and till, and till.  It will take tilling it 2-3 times a week until planting time.  I will obviously have to amend the soil but that is not hard with the leaves we compost and the manures we are blessed with.  It’s just the time and energy it will take.  Fortunately, men like to play on their tractors so I think we’re good:)  Truth be told, I like playing on the tractor too.

More later.  Hope you have a great start to another week.  And let’s hope that only the truth be found out in dealing with the C19 virus.  So much politics and unnecessary stuff takes place in these situations.  Very frustrating.

Keep calm!

Desarae

Leave a comment