Looking Back

Last week when I visited my brother and wife, I had to pass by this house.  This is the house I grew up in.  From the time I was 7 months old till I went off to college, this was home.  My father bought the house and 80 acres for a song; only $12,000!   It wasn’t for sale at the time but he and Mom talked to the older couple that owned it and asked if they would be selling the house any time soon.  They said yes!  The rest is history and now there are many very special memories for my brothers and I.  There are four bedrooms upstairs and a bathroom.  The main level has the kitchen and dining area, living room, and a smaller parlor type room with a fireplace in it.  It has a laundry room off the kitchen as well as a bathroom.  This house was quite the hub for family and friends.  It was special to grandkids and when it came time for Mom and Dad to move, it was not easy.  There were years of things to purge, sell, give away, clean, move and reorganize.  But that wasn’t the hardest part; the emotional part was the hardest.  My mother loved the house and had raised her three children there.  She made memories that are forever etched in our minds.  Homemaking was her thing and it was difficult for her to leave the place so dear to her heart.  I would love to go back in the house but going by the condition of the outside, I would probably be very saddened by it’s condition.  It hasn’t been kept up very well and is getting to look quite dumpy.  Dad always took such good care of the house and yard. Even though things were old, he kept them clean and painted.  He kept the yard mowed and there was never junk laying around.  It must be hard for Dad to drive by the house and see how run down it is.  I’m thankful for the years we lived there.

Time to close.  More to come another day.  Thanks for reading!

Desarae

 

Leave a comment