Windy Day

It has been windy in more ways than one!  Daughter #4 call as we were headed out to milk.  She was called to a school meeting this morning before classes started.  It appears they will be closing the school for three weeks.  The governor of the state of Michigan mandated it last night.  I’m wondering if anyone will mandate that I stay home, that I won’t be allowed to do laundry, cook, clean, or do any sort of work!!  Oh.

Papa ran down to their house to sit with the kids while Mommy ran to the meeting, (she’s on the school board) and I milked.  When I got done, I ran down so Papa could come home and get ready for work.  As soon as Mommy return I brought the three year old home with me so she could take the other three kids to school.  Before Papa left we started the sap stove and filled the vat with sap.  I’m very glad we put the stove in a different location this year; out of the wind because it is quite windy today.  When we were all fired up and going I took my little helper with me and emptied the buckets on the trees.  Wet hands in this wind at 34 degrees is not comfortable.  It felt really nice to come inside and fix a hot cup of coffee to go with a blueberry muffin.  I don’t know who would buy blueberry muffins from the store!  Well, maybe a wife that hasn’t had the desire to bake anything!  Hubby is quite deprived these days.

I had it written down to work outside today but I think I will wait for a little more snow to be gone and the temps to be closer to 40 degrees.  There’s always things elsewhere to do.

Sorry this isn’t the most interesting post.  Just keeping in touch.  Hope your day is productive and blessed.

Desarae

 

 

Leave a comment