Priceless Picture

This is a picture that’s priceless to me.  This is my mother’s mother, my dear Grandma.  I have mentioned before how we used to excitedly wait for the phone call from Grandpa and Grandma in the Spring, letting us know when lambs had been born.  Mom and Dad would take us over to see them and Grandpa would let us bottle feed them.  For us kids, it was a big deal.  The lambs would bleat constantly till they had their turn at downing that bottle of milk.  It is a fond memory for sure but I never knew there was a picture to enhance such a fond memory.  My cousin sent this to me and I promptly had a copy made and framed it.  I’ve never had the desire to have sheep but I love memories and old photos.

Grandma made quite the impression on me.  We grew up knowing she loved us.  We grew up knowing she loved each of her 23 grandchildren.  She was a quiet but strong woman.  I look back now at Grandpa and Grandma’s simple humble living conditions and marvel at all she did with so little.  There was nothing of great value in their home.  Their home simple but very welcoming.  I remember so well, the small space Grandma had to prepare meals and clean up afterwards yet she always welcomed us to eat.  Her small table served many cups of coffee.  Her cookie jar housed many “Grandma Cookies!”  I think of her often and hope that our grandchildren will have fond memories of their grandparents and the farm.  As excited as they get to come and visit, it appears we are repeating some of the same experiences and making fond memories.

Hope you enjoy the weekend!  I also hope you have some fond memories.  I shall return!

Desarae

2 thoughts on “Priceless Picture

  1. I think you are so smart for planting fruit trees. And, for starting over with your garden. You can build it back up. You’ve got ready made fertilizer, too. Plus, crumbled egg shells and coffee grounds. I’m not sure if you can get soil tested at the moment, but I suggest that, too, as soon as you can have it done. We were fighting a garden, finally I did the soil check, that’s when we gave up. Our garden soil was so depleted, it would have been an expensive project to bring it up.
    You are one smart lady!

    Like

Leave a comment