Completed!

It was so wonderful to be back outside, working in the yard again!  The sunshine is so warm in more ways than one.  The skies have been so clear.  While putting deer fence around the new fruit trees, I heard one of the most wonderful sounds ever;  it was the clip-clop of the Amish horse and buggy going by on the road.  What a peaceful sound.  A sound that is far too rare.  It reminded me of something else.  We live just off the old railroad bed.  I don’t know what year the train stopped running.  It had to be a very long time ago.  I often wish I could have experienced the train going by.  Maybe it would rattle the house too much and I wouldn’t like it but I’d like to have found out.  We do appreciate that it has been turned into a bike path and walking path.  At least it wasn’t abandoned to become overgrown with brush so that it would be unusable.

Last Monday I gave in to having hubby take the whole top of the garden off, which I had mentioned.  I broke down even further and had him till the soil.  I know; most people would say, “so?!”  Well, I have done enough researching and believe what many farmers, gardeners and teachers have concluded.  Tilling the soil actually disrupts the soil’s microorganisms, exposing many of them to the air which can kill them.  As the soil is tilled over and over it can cause it to be less fertile.  The theory of “no till” has been adopted through observing natural fertile soils.  An example is the forest where there is constant foliage and materials being added to the ground, left to decay, and adding to the whole ecosystem.  Rather than tilling, compost and mulch is added to the garden and thus the soil is left uninterrupted.  Well, I decided I can build the soil back up far easier than trying to kill off the weeds and grass that had taken over.  After mentioning in my post the number of loads of roots we had hauled away, hubby took another load and I am working on yet another one.  That will be about eight or nine loads but who’s counting!!  All this to say, yesterday I worked more on the garden area and hubby tilled again.once again I raked more roots into piles.  I am beginning to see the number of roots finally decline.   I really hope this will work.

We had a few little bodies stop by for a while today.  It was a nice break to have cheeks to kiss.

I’ll be back!

Desarae

 

Leave a comment